The Classic Lions were edged out by the USA Classic Eagles in the Plate semi-finals of the World Rugby Classic in Bermuda.

In an entertaining clash it was the USA who emerged victorious as the Lions lost a second game in the tournament.

The Lions had earlier been defeated 17-5 by the Classic Springboks in a hard-fought opening round clash at North Field, National Sports Centre.

South African wing Tonderai Chavhanga grabbed two earlier tries before an intercept from scrum half Charl McLeod put the Springboks 17-0 up.

Lions hit back when Johnnie Beattie probing run down the left freed up space for Ryan Grant to power over before the break.

The second half was dominated by the Lions, but they could find no way through a resolute and well-drilled South African defence, that had to manage being a man down for ten minutes after Morgan Newman was yellow carded for a high tackle.

The tournament was eventually won by the Classic Pumas who sealed an impressive hat-trick of World Rugby Classic titles with a 16-6 victory over Classic Springboks.

The tournament favourites overturned a 3-0 half-time deficit, with the boot of Gonzalo Gutierrez Taboada proving pivotal, kicking 11 of his side’s overall points to guide them to the title.

2019 World Bermuda Classic Schedule
November 2nd – 9th, 2019

Date Match Result
November 2nd Rugby Canada vs Rugby Italian XV Classic Pumas vs France Classic Rugby 22-23
November 4th Ireland Rugby Legends vs USA Classic Eagles Classic Lions vs Classic Springboks 25-8
November 6th Plate Semi Final: Rugby Canada vs France Classic Rugby Classic Semi Final: Rugby Italian XV vs Classic Pumas 5-8
November 7th Plate Semi Final: Classic Eagles vs Classic Lions Classic Semi Final: Classic Springboks vs Ireland Rugby Legends 17-12
November 9th Plate Final: Classic Eagles vs France Classic Rugby Classic Final: Classi Pumas vs Classic Springboks 14-7

Classic Lions

Cai Griffiths (Wales A/Ospreys), Damien Hudd (Wales RL/Ebbw Vale) Ryan Grant (Scotland/Glasgow Warriors), Moray Low (Scotland/Exeter Chiefs), Chris Fortey (England Squad/Worcester), T. Rhys Thomas (Wales/Newport Gwent Dragons), Adam Jones (Wales/Newport Gwent Dragons), Peter Sidoli (Wales U-21/Newport Gwent Dragons), Andy Saull (England Saxons Yorkshire Carnegie), David Seymour (England 7s/ Sales F.C)

Johnnie Beattie (Scotland/Bayonne), Charlie Amesbury (England 7s/Harelquins), Martin Roberts (Wales/Bristol), Gareth Bowen (Wales A & 7s/Llanelli), Chris Mayor (Wigan Warriors Southport

Daffyd James (Wales/Lions/HKCC Rugby), Ceri Sweeney (Wales/Cardiff Blues), Max Evans (Scotland/Castres), Marcel Garvey (England Saxons/Castres), Gareth King (Wales A & U-21/Newport Gwent Dragons), Aaron Bramwell      (Wales 7s/Ebbw Vale), Delon Armitage            (England/ Lyon OU), Richard Carter (Wales 7s/Aberavon

Coach: Derek McAleese (Ireland/Ulster)

Assistant: Chris Bentley (England U-21, Barbarians, Exeter)

Manager: Allan Martin (Wales, Lions, Aberavon)